SLOPES OF 8 – KENIA (KIRINYAGA)

FRUITY SWEET

complex, sweet, medium body

TASTE PROFILE:

Chocolate macarons, Black currant, black berry

 

PRODUCER: The Slopes of 8

ORIGIN: Kenia

VARIETY: Bastian, Ruiru 11, SL28, SL34 // PROCESSING: washed

CUPPING SCORE: 88 // ALTITUDE: +1700 – 1900m

HARVEST: 2020

15,00 29,50 

Clear

Description

ESPRESSO SLOPES OF 8

Chocolate macarons, Black currant, black berry, raspberry

This peaberry lot comes from the "Slopes of 8", an innovative producer group from Kenya. This model focuses on shortening the coffee value chain for smallholder coffee producers from Kenya and thereby strengthening the producers. With this model, independent producers conclude an agreement with our local partners who provide them with technical, logistical, financial and commercial support every day. They deliver the coffee to the Kahawa Bora dry mill for grinding, quality control and export preparation.

Peaberry is a name given to a very specific shape of bean. In spanish, peaberries are called “caracol”, which means “snail”. The name aptly describes the shape of the peaberry bean, which appears slightly curved in on itself.

Peaberries are the result of a natural mutation in the coffee cherry. Whereas there are usually two beans nestled together in each fruit, in a cherry with a peaberry mutation, only one bean forms. As a result, peaberries are a single, rounder bean.

Peaberry mutations occur in approximately 5% of all coffee. The beans are known for being rounder, smaller and denser, which can contribute to a more even roast color, when handled correctly. Many people find peaberries to have a sweeter flavor profile, as well.

Since peaberries are a natural mutation that is not visible from the outside of the cherry, peaberries must be sorted out during the screen grading stage of dry milling. The peaberry screens have the smallest holes, which are oblong to allow the rounder beans to fall through.

From this special lot we have now developed a dedicated espresso for you – Enjoy!

Additional information

Weight N/A

SLOPES OF 8 – KENIA (KIRINYAGA)

FRUCHTIG SÜSS

Komplex, süß, mittlerer Körper

GESCHMACKSNOTEN:

Schokoladen Macaron, Brombeere, Schwarze Johannisbeere, Himbeere

 

PRODUZENT: The Slopes of 8

VARIETÄT:  Bastian, Ruiru 11, SL28, SL34 // AUFBEREITUNG: washed

CUPPING PUNKTE: 88 // ANBAUHÖHEN: 1700m – 1900m

ERNTE: 2020

Artikelnummer: 29 Kategorie:

15,00 29,50 

Auswahl zurücksetzen

Beschreibung

ESPRESSO SLOPES OF 8

Schokoladen Macaron, Brombeere, Schwarze Johannisbeere, Blaubeere, Himbeere

Dieses Peaberry Lot stammt von den „Slopes of 8“, einer innovativen Produzentengruppe aus Kenia die wir sehr gerne unterstützen möchten. Ihr Modell konzentriert sich darauf, die Kaffee Wertschöpfungskette für kleinbäuerliche Kaffeeproduzenten aus Kenia zu verkürzen und dadurch die Produzenten zu stärken. Bei diesem Modell schließen unabhängige Produzenten eine Vereinbarung mit unseren Partnern vor Ort, die sie Tag für Tag technisch, logistisch, finanziell und kaufmännisch unterstützen. Sie liefern den Kaffee an die Trockenmühle Kahawa Bora zur Mahlung, Qualitätskontrolle und Exportvorbereitung.

Peaberry ist ein Name für eine ganz bestimmte Bohnenform. Auf Spanisch werden sie „caracol“ genannt, was „Schnecke“ bedeutet. Der Name beschreibt treffend die Form der Peaberry Bohne, die in sich leicht gewölbt erscheint.

Peaberries sind das Ergebnis einer natürlichen Mutation in der Kaffeekirsche. Während in jeder Frucht meist zwei Bohnen aneinandergeschmiegt sind, bildet sich bei einer Kirsche mit einer Peaberry Mutation nur eine Bohne.

Peaberry Mutationen kommen in etwa 5 % aller Kaffees vor. Die Bohnen sind dafür bekannt, runder, kleiner und dichter zu sein, was bei richtiger Handhabung zu einer gleichmäßigeren Röstfarbe beitragen kann. Viele Leute finden, das Peaberries auch ein süßeres Geschmacksprofil haben.

Da sie eine natürliche Mutation sind, die von der Außenseite der Kirsche nicht sichtbar ist, müssen die sie während der Sortierungsphase aussortiert werden.

Wir lieben die fruchtig schokoladigen Noten dieses Kaffees und haben daher aus diesem besonderen Lot einen Espresso für Euch entwickelt – Enjoy!

 

Zusätzliche Information

Gewicht n. a.